Showing posts with label blog. Show all posts
Showing posts with label blog. Show all posts

Friday, 4 July 2014

Dear Owls, I did it.

Dear Owls, 


Last year, I came to you crying my words out about a job. I was in dire need of finding a summer job and it was so difficult because nobody wanted to hire a 16 year old girl in summer. 
But little did I know... what they really wanted was a 17 year old girl in summer. 
Yes my owls, I did it. 
I got a job. 
It's only for two months and I'm not officially an employee for legal reasons, but it worked. I'm hired and getting paid for my efforts. 

And it's funny because being at home, I hear enough about people wanting to lose weight, and now that I'm working at a Nutrition Center, it's all about weight loss. Everybody that comes in there just wants to complain about the same thing; they can't lose the weight! 
Of course all of them say they don't eat and that they think it's a metabolism or hormonal problem that must have been the issue ALL these years. 
I'm not sure if this is customer confidentiality... but today a customer came in wanting to lose 10 kilos in less than a week?! How could that even work?
You know what's the best part about all the people that come in? They're not even that thick. They don't even need to lose the fat. They're buying supplements and creams, and although I should be promoting them, I just don't believe in anything but the 'natural way to lose the bust'. It has been quite a tackle to be honest. Considering I haven't taken Biology or Chemistry in the past 3 years and I have no knowledge of most of the things the Doctor keeps taking to me about, she's actually a pretty good teacher. I've learnt more about the body and it's functions in the past two days than I have learnt anything in school in the previous years of study. 
In the winter, I went for an art center and comparing the both is just hilarious. They're two different kinds of jobs. Although this job teaching me more social skills and promotion techniques, the art center just made me feel at home. I dealt with amazing kids from the ages of 6 to 10 and they were just the cutest things ever. They made me want to kill them at times, but it was the good kind of murder, the one where you stop for a second and go, 'awe no'. The kids were fun. It was really hectic though, because sometimes they don't listen and I need to raise my voice and say something really mean like "Okay kids, no snack time" and the look on their faces just broke me from the inside. 

In hindsight, the past two jobs that I found for myself and took seriously didn't come to me easily. Recently, a teenager wanting to find a job said to me in desperation, "I'm looking everywhere, and I can't believe I can't find anything. I looked online for days and I just can't find anything."
But I'll tell this to every kid that wants to find a job, especially in Dubai. Never expect to find a tag that says *We need a TEENAGER to work for us in summer PLEASE* 

like, that's never going to happen. 

The advice I'd give first of all is the following: 

  • Fix up your CV to look extra amazing. Since you're only so much younger than all the other applicants, you have to give them an excellent first impression and that's not going to come from your face as you apply online. 
  • After fixing up your CV, I strongly suggest you ask someone you know, or your parents know who has good connections with people. By "connections" I mean... don't ask someone who's unemployed or doesn't work because they are less likely to know about people who need someone to help around. Once you've asked, don't keep nagging, but do follow up with the person so they know you're serious.
  • Make sure you know the legalities in your country for hiring younger ones. If they're really strict, then I suggest you look for summer camps and centers that offer summer courses. They are likely to need someone who has a limited knowledge on office work or in summer camps, how to deal with kids. You're going to need to call the manager or the HR dept. if that place has one. Calling is very risky and I would mostly suggest sending an email with the attachment of your CV. 
  • Be prepared for any disappointments that come your way. Many people, especially those with a serious work schedule, won't be willing to hire teenagers to accomplish the tasks at hand. 
  • It's always good to have good social skills and a willingness to smile. Never EVER use your phone to text while waiting for an interview. Try talking with any of the employees that are free (aka; the secretary) so that they know you're mature enough. Strike a conversation about your family or ambitions, even if you don't want to. Usually during interviews most of the analyzing happens before the interview to see how you handle yourself and if you're patient. For one of my interviews, they made me wait 45mins for the sake of it, just to see if I would wait long enough. 
  • If it doesn't work out one year... keep at it. With each year I got rejected,  I got a better sense of the money I'd be getting paid at each place and experience to know who to ask and who not to ask. I found that places at malls could be willing to hire you if it weren't for the legalities. Places at summer camps and centers are very likely to be willing to hire. Of course, when it comes to the pay, I wouldn't be very eager. It's always about the experience you'd be getting and the people you'd meet. So, if you're looking for extra money, I'd suggest promotion booths where you get extra bonuses with each customer that buys from your booth. 

That's all the advice I have to give, but the experience I got, for each of the jobs I got accepted and rejected for, was worth all the trouble. Of course you could always spend your summer in a different way and not bore yourself to death, but there's always another option right? 
Anyway, it's all easier said than done and I'm so glad someone offered me a job because it gives me an amazing time to learn new things and even read when there aren't any customers. 
My next aim is to find a job at a Cinema! A friend of mine did that and she said it was actually super fun. Well, she didn't, but it looked super fun! 

For now, nutrition center it is. 

With the best of smiles, 
Me. 

Monday, 1 July 2013

Dear Owls, this book!

Dear Owls, 

I've currently been handed a book on my birthday and needless to say, i've been completely hooked! I haven't put it down, it's even a hassle when i have to go to sleep but i urge myself another 5 minutes which end up keeping me till 3 or 4 am. This hook is reckless given that i have to work (for my father)the very next day at 8am! Today, for example, i woke at 9 dissolved into my bed, begging the universe another minute for rest my eyes. 
There's a metro that takes me to my dad's office, but there's a good 30 minute walk in between that distance and today i scurried from it. I begged my mother to take me with her and off we went. 
It was today that my sleep got the best of me and one of the employers caught me stealing a nap off my duty. She didn't report me or anything but we both know she was thinking it. 
I don't really like work very much. It's boring and not what i wanted in the first place. I wanted a place where i could interact with people, but lately it's just been the computer, the cubicle and moi all in one little office in the middle of Dubai. 
For all of you out there who actually give a shit about the book i'm totally in love with, it's 'The Fault in Our Stars' most of you just smiled, the others frowned thinking, not her  too. The thing is, this book got so much hype on Tumblr, i pleaded my heart i wouldn't have a liking towards it.
My theory on, 'everything that starts with a hype, end horribly wrong' is in fact false (just this time though) 
Once i'm done with the book, i'll most certainly post a review about it on:

I hope this blog helps someone out one day. It sure did help me, in more ways i thought was possible. 

Until next time, 
owl's friend.

I'm just wondering here...



Thursday, 27 June 2013

Dear Owl, Im at work.

Dear Owls, 


So i'm at the office with dad and i have my ow cubicle! Sounds cool? Good. That's as cool as it gets. I've literally got nothing to do and i'm bored as ever, but i'm catching up on my reading, so that's a good thing! So, 100 movies and 10 books. 
Wait. 
What! 
We thought you were reading 30 books (whoever 'we' is) 
But no, sadly i've come to a conclusion that being lazy is way better than being stressed. 10 books is great too. It gives me enough time to deal with everything else. Like what? Oh you know... 
Teenage problems. 

I must go to laser tag soon, what else can i do in Dubai? Hmm... maybe i'll take Waz to a movie, or Magic Planet. Thing is, we always end up fighting. Guess i'll just stick to playing Call Of Duty with him, it's Black Ops 2, if anyway cares.
It's really funny how this summer is even more boring than i thought it would be; i wouldn't go back to school though. Gosh, hell just follows you around everywhere doesn't it?
Well, let's see how all this turns out then, shall we?

Yours with a boredom strike,
bored.
Baby Yoshi Blinking